The continuing education requirements are: 60 CE credits every 3 years, 18 out of the 60 credits can be home study.


Dentists are required to fulfill the following continuing education requirements under New York State Law:

  • NYS Mandated Infection Control course (once every 4 years).
  • NYS Mandated Ethics and Jurisprudence course (once in your lifetime).
  • NYS Mandated Tobacco Cessation/Oral Cancer course (once in your lifetime).
  • NYS Mandated Child abuse course (once in your lifetime).
  • NYS Mandated Child Abuse course (ALL licensed dentists are required to complete additional coursework by April 1, 2025). A list of approved providers for this coursework can be found here.
  • CPR course: you must maintain a current certification (once every 2 years) CPR must be taken in person.  
  • 12-Hour Sedation (for sedation certificate holders) (every 3 years).
  • Opioids and Controlled Substances (for dentists who maintain a DEA number) every 3 years.

**Practice Management courses are not accepted by the NYS Department of Education and will not count toward the 60 credits needed for licensing renewal. 

 

Mandatory Prescriber DEA Education Renewal for Licensed Dentists 

  • The Federal MATE act is a one-time 8-hour requirement with an emphasis on Medication Assisted Therapy, Access to Treatment & Recognition of Substance Use Disorders.
  • Before you register for any upcoming CE DEA Mandate course, check your New York State Dental Foundation, personal account because if you previously have taken an Opioid, Pain Management course, etc. the CE credit will be applied to the one-time 8-hour requirement.
  • NYS requires three hours every three years. Many of the topics overlap with the Federal requirement.
  • If you do not have a DEA number/registration you do not need to worry about this or the federal law. If you graduated in the last 5 years you do not need to satisfy the FEDERAL requirement.
  • Many of you have a 2023 NYS deadline to satisfy the 3-hour NYS requirement. The Federal requirement has to be completed before you renew your DEA registration after 6/27/2023.

UPDATED January 2024 - Child Abuse Reporting Training Required by April 1, 2025

Updated Mandated Reporter Training Requirements.  Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2021 amended Social Services Law § 413 to require additional training to include protocols to reduce implicit bias in decision-making processes, strategies for identifying adverse childhood experiences, and guidelines to assist in recognizing signs of abuse or maltreatment while interacting virtually within the New York State Mandated Identification and Reporting of Child Abuse and Maltreatment/Neglect coursework.  This law requires that mandated reporters, including those who have previously undergone the current training, complete the updated training curriculum by April 1, 2025. ALL licensed dentists and dental hygienists who completed a "once in a lifetime" course must now complete a new Child Abuse Reporting course.  This includes newly licensed dentists who completed a New York residency program as of 2023.  

The course must be approved by NYSED.  A list of course providers can be found here.

After completing the course:
Documentation in the form of an authorized Certification of Completion must be submitted to the State Education Department at the time of reregistration or initial application for licensure, certification, or a limited permit. Within ten days of coursework completion, the approved provider from whom you obtain the training is required to issue you two copies of the Certification form.

Exemptions
The law exempts from the training an individual who can document, to the satisfaction of the Department, that there is no need for the training based on the nature of his or her practice.  You may be eligible for an exemption if the nature of your practice is such that you do not have professional contact with persons under the age of 18 years and you do not have contact with persons 18 years of age or older with a handicapping condition, who reside in a residential care school or facility.  

If you wish further information about an exemption, or you wish to request an exemption application (17 KB), please contact:

The New York State Education Department
Professional Education Program Review
89 Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor West Wing
Albany, New York 12234
Attn: Child Abuse Training Exemption

 

Dental hygienists are required to fulfill the following continuing education requirements under New York State Law:

  • 24 continuing education credit hours every 3-year registration period. 10 out of the 24 credits can be home study.
  • NYS Mandated Child Abuse course (ALL registered dental hygienists are required to complete additional coursework by April 1, 2025). A list of approved providers for this coursework can be found here.   
  • NYS Mandated Infection Control course (once every 4 years).

Recommended (not required)

  • Risk Management is not required but should be taken every 3 years for the 10% discount on malpractice insurance.
  • OSHA: It is the responsibility of employers to stay up to date on any OSHA changes to remain legally compliant, or face fines and costly claims that could lead to lawsuits. It is recommended that dentists and their employees should update themselves at least annually and place appropriate documentation into their office manuals.
  • HIPAA

CERP logo
22380292641